#### COUNCIL

### (Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present: 25 May, 2016

The Mayor: Councillor Mrs.S.M.Penry

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Mrs.J.Dudley

**Councillors**: H.M.Bebell, A.Carter, Mrs.A.Chaves,

M.Crowley, A.P.H.Davies, D.W.Davies,

Mrs.R.Davies, M.Ellis, J.S.Evans, M.Harvey,

I.B.James, H.N.James, Mrs.L.H.James,

M.L.James, A.Jenkins, E.E.Jones, Mrs.D.Jones, R.G.Jones, D.Keogh, E.V.Latham, A.Llewelyn, Mrs.K.Lloyd, J.Miller, Mrs.S.Miller, C.Morgan,

Ms.C.Morgans, Mrs.S.Paddison,

Mrs.K.Pearson, D.M.Peters, S.Rahaman, P.A.Rees, P.D.Richards, J.Rogers, A.Taylor,

A.J. Taylor, A.H. Thomas, A.L. Thomas,

D.Whitelock and A.N.Woolcock

Officers in S.Phillips, H.Jenkins, A.Evans, G.Nutt,

Attendance: A.Jarrett, D.Michael, Mrs.K.Jones, R.George

and Mrs.A.Manchipp

# 1. MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENT

It was with great sadness that the Mayor referred to the recent death of the mother of Councillor Paul Greenaway.

As a mark of respect Members stood for a minute's silence.

# Report of the Chief Executive

# 2. **DEMOCRATIC STRUCTURE ARRANGEMENTS 2016/17**

Council considered the various administrative issues deferred from the Annual Meeting of 20 May, 2016, as set out in the above report, and the Addendum Report circulated at the meeting.

#### **RESOLVED:**

(a) that the amended Policy and Budget Framework, as set out in **Annex A**, attached hereto, be approved;

### **Executive**

(b) that the arrangements for the Civic Year 2016/17 i.e. the period to the next Annual Meeting, in respect of the size of the Cabinet; the appointment of Members thereto; the appointment of the Cabinet Boards; and the allocation of the Cabinet Portfolios be approved as contained in **Annex B** attached hereto;

### **Scrutiny and Council Committees**

- constitution of Political Groups be confirmed as set out in Annex C attached hereto (but it be unanimously RESOLVED that pursuant to Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the political balance requirements of Sections 15 and 16 should not apply to the Appeals Panel, Standards Committee and the Licensing and Gambling Acts Sub Committee), and should not be applied generally in so far only as an allocation of seats shall be made to the one Member who is not a Member of any political group.
- (d) that the apportionment of the Scrutiny
  Committees for the Civic Year 2016/17 and
  the number of places thereon, together with
  the appointment of Members thereto, be
  approved as set out in **Annex D** attached
  hereto:
- (e) that the proposals in respect of the other Committee arrangements for the Civic Year 2016/17 be approved, together with the appointment of Members thereto, as set out in **Appendix E** attached hereto.

-The Council Meeting was suspended at this point for a Special Audit Committee to be convened. Thereafter Council was reconvened.-

### **Other Matters**

- (f) that a Staff Council of 12 Members of the Personnel Committee (plus advisors) be appointed for the Civic Year 2016/17, together with appropriate Trade Union representative, as set out in **Annex F** attached hereto;
- (g) that the proposals in respect of the other Member/Officer Groups for the Civic Year 2016/17 be approved, together with the appointment of Members thereto, as set out in **Appendix F** attached hereto.
- (h) that, subject to the note below, the appointments to Joint Committees, Outside and Other Public Bodies for the Civic Year 2016/17 be approved, together with the appointment of Members thereto, as set out in **Annex G** attached hereto.

Note: The appointment of Representatives to Joint Committees, together with the Executive representation on Outside and Other Public Bodies, is the responsibility of the Cabinet (Minute Nos. 1 and 2 of the Special Cabinet refers);

- (i) that the timetable and cycle of meetings including the schedule of Members
  Seminars as set out in **Annex H** attached hereto, be approved.
- (j) that it be noted that the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Audit Committee for 2016/17, be Councillors Mrs L.H.James and J.D.Morgan respectively;

(k) that the Chairman of the Democratic Services Committee for 2016/17, be Councillor Mrs.L.H.James.

# **CHAIRPERSON**